ABNA announces 12-man squad for International Netball series

- Advertisement -

A 12-man squad has been named by the Antigua and Barbuda Netball Association (ABNA) to contest the first ever OECS ECCB International Netball series in St. Vincent.

Kizzy Thomas, Sanchez Martin, Tashana Bloomfield, Amey Lake, Shermaine Reifer, Seymone Parks, Patara Davis, Reyanna Regis, Mikila Willis, Kizzy Hughes, Tyea Ladoo and Naomi Ephraim were selected to represent Antigua and Barbuda.

Karen Joseph, who is the President of the ABNA, will switch roles as she will travel as the coach for the team.

This would be the first time in many years that a senior team will represent the country in the sport.

Countries such as Dominica, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Lucia have already been confirmed to be competing at the event.

The series replaces the Under-23 tournament which conducted 28 editions since its inception in 1991 with St. Vincent being the first ever host.

 It will be a ranking tournament, where the countries in the sub-region will be vying for valuable points to improve or secure international rankings on the International Netball Federation (INF) list.

The inaugural OECS ECCB International Netball Series will see the honouring of former SVGNA President, Gloria Ballantyne MBE, who also served the sport regionally as an administrator and as Umpires’ Trainer and Assessor.

The series is set for the Arnos Vale Netball Complex from June 14th to 21st.

Antigua and Barbuda left last Friday. (Carlena Knight)

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

17 + sixteen =