ABFA names squad for under-20 qualifiers

- Advertisement -

A 34-member national under-20 training squad has been announced by the Antigua and Barbuda Football Association (ABFA) as they jumpstart preparations for the CONCACAF qualifications slated for November 1-21  in Florida.
Rokeba Cordice, Akeem Isaac, Dimitry Thomas, Ajahrie Hosier, Dravid Benjamin, Tikwan Matthews, Jamar Peters, Kadeam Mark, Jalauen Benjamin and Kenja Benjamin have been included in the large training squad.
Also selected are D’Andre Bishop, Chevon Moore, Keon Greene, Kenijah Challenger, Shakore Simon, Kerron McKenzie, David Martin, Javorn Benjamin, Daniel Nanton, Leroy Graham, Sean Herbert, Neal Browne, Tyrese Tomas and Joel Martin.
The other selectees are Jahhzihno O’Garro, Javid Joseph, Antyon Henry, Charles Dowdy, Dale Gardner, D’Jarie Sheppard, Jernya Oscar, Jahkefie Jeffers, Jaden Martin and Kyle Grayman.
The team will be coached by George “Cajawawa” Warner and Vaughn “Pop-T” James.
Training sessions commenced this week at the ABFA technical centre on Factory Road, starting 4:30 p.m. daily.
The young Benna Boys will contest Group C of the qualifiers where they will face tough opposition from Honduras, Cuba, Belize, Dominican Republic and St. Maarten.
Antigua and Barbuda will hope to finish at the top of the six-team group as only the top team from each will move to the second qualification round. This round will be a round-robin format with the remaining teams being divided into two groups of three. The top two from each group will then advance to the 2019 Under-20 FIFA World Cup in Poland.
Antigua and Barbuda will open their campaign against St. Maarten on Independence Day, November 1, battle Belize on November 3, then face the Dominican Republic two days later. They will then meet Cuba on November 7, while their final group match will be against Honduras two days later.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fourteen − four =