Destructive Hector spell leads Police to Dave Joseph Parish League title

West Indies Women’s cricketer, Shawnisha Hector (front row, left), was instrumental in Police’s victory over Freetown in the Dave Joseph 35 Overs Parish League Cricket Final after claiming three wickets for 12 runs (Photo courtesy Photo Lounge)
- Advertisement -

West Indies Women’s cricketer, Shawnisha Hector, was a vital component in Saturday’s Dave Joseph 35 Overs Parish League Cricket Final for Police, claiming three wickets for 12 runs to help lead the lawmen to a six-wicket triumph over Freetown.

Playing at the Police Recreation Grounds (PRG), Hector ripped through the Freetown top order after they were asked to bat, limiting them to just 71 runs. There were two wickets each for Lashorne Barnard, Jensen Richards and James Cornelius all for the lawmen.

Clever Martin was the top batsmen for Freetown with 26, while Vance Nathaniel chipped in with 18. Police then easily got to their target, losing just four wickets in the process.

Malik Gerald top scored with 25, and both Derek Mourillon and Hector closed the game on 12 not-out.

Commissioner Atlee Rodney was among other senior police officers and spectators watching the keenly contested match. He took the opportunity to offer congratulations to the team and wish them success in their future games. 

Rodney also encouraged the players to be ambassadors of the police force and to continue exhibiting that same high-spirited desire to do well throughout their daily functions. The Police Cricket Team is captained by Constable Mourillon and Linton Africa is the Vice Captain. The other players are Damon Valentine, Jeron Jones, Malik Gerald, Shawnisha Hector, Jenisen Richards, Lashorn Barnarde, Nevil Nichols, Alston Senior, Vincent Shadrach Jr, Shawn Walsh, Okano Barthley, Shivon Moore, James Cornelius, and Orandel Boston.

The lawmen are now focused on clinching the Sir Richie Richardson One Day Competition as well as the Sir Curtly Ambrose Two Day Competition and the Sir Vivian Richards Thursday league titles. 

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here