PMS dominates School’s Cycling event

- Advertisement -

By Carlena Knight

Princess Margaret School (PMS) rode away with three of the four titles in the Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Federation (ABCF) School’s Invitational Cycling race over the weekend.

The event saw athletes representing 10 schools – Antigua Grammar School (AGS), Antigua Girls High School (AGHS), Ottos Comprehensive (OCS), St. Joseph’s Academy (SJA), Sunnyside Tutorial, Cobbs Cross Primary, St. John’s Catholic Primary, St. Anthony’s Secondary School (SASS), All Saints Secondary School (ASSS) and Princess Margaret School (PMS).

Riders began their journey on Sunday following a last-man-standing format where they would make laps around the course at Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds. Each time a lap is made, the rider crossing last is eliminated until one initial winner remains.

In the Boys 14-17 category, Tyron Peters of Princess Margaret defeated Wajib Darwich of SJA and Jamal Parkinson (PMS); while in the girls equivalent Chasondre Tonge hailing from PMS emerged the winner.

Jonelly Encarcion (PMS) and Alla Henry settled for second and third respectively.

Teandre Elliott also of PMS rode away with the top honors in the boys 10-13 division while Antigua Grammar School’s Aden Murray-Watkins and Tahje Browne finished second and third.

Joyce Murray-Watkins of Antigua Girls High School clinched the girls 10-13 title, beating Rhianne Watkins of OCS and O’Myah Dorsett of PMS.

- Advertisement -