Dylan Jonas Sweeps Mr. Antigua and Barbuda

- Advertisement -

By Carlena Knight

Dylan Jonas flexed and posed his way to secure the prestigious Mr. Antigua and Barbuda title at the National Bodybuilding and Weightlifting Championships on Saturday.

During the Antigua and Barbuda Amateur Bodybuilding and Weightlifting Federation (ABABWF) event at the Multipurpose Cultural Center on Saturday, Jonas first swept the Men’s Bodybuilding Heavyweight Category by beating Tony Phillip and Dale Gardner and then going on to defeat the Men’s Bodybuilding Middleweight winner, Alfred Allen, and the Lightweight winner, Rodney George.

George, despite coming up short in the overall competition, was named the Most Muscular athlete.

Kenroy Christian walked away with the overall title in the largest competitor division, the Men’s Physique. Christian advanced to the final round of judging after winning the Men’s Physique Class D, edging out Keijah Edwards and Euston Dickenson who settled for second and third respectively.

Anthony Nurse was named the Men’s Physique Class C winner with Karris Jacobs and Rashawn Gooden second and third.

In the Men’s Physique Class B, James Thomas was adjudged the winner while Ryan Hudson won Class A.

Lorenz Bishop and Byron Benjamin finished second and third in Class B, while Duncan Corbin and Brad Benjamin secured the silver and bronze medals in Class B.

Jonte Barnes, however, walked away with the most awards that night as, in addition to winning the Junior Bodybuilding title, he was named the Best Poser, Most Improved Bodybuilder and Most Impressive Athlete.

Barnes defeated Adriel Joseph (2nd) and Joshua Stoute (3rd) for the Junior title.

Randy Christopher was named the overall champion in the Men’s Classic Physique category, edging out Tristan Hughes, the Men’s Classic Physique Class A winner.  Davier Joseph and Richard Thomas settled for second and third in the Class A section.

Christopher also won his event, the Men’s Classic Physique Class B, by beating Warren English and Kelvin Valentine.

First time competitor Ahjanya King walked away with the overall title in the Bikini Wellness division, edging out Alexa Perry who won the Tall class in that division.

King first dethroned the defending Bikini Wellness champion, Shari Brown, in the Short class.

A new champion was also crowned on Saturday night in the Bikini Fitness category.

Geanna Jules was named the overall champion of that section, beating veteran Kemberly Greenaway, the Tall Class winner.

Other results of the night saw first timer Rochelle Kirby winning the Body Fitness category, while veteran Hazel Went-Defreitas proved age is just a number by winning the Women’s Physique.

Franklin Carbon walked away with the Masters Bodybuilding title, while Yvette Butler was crowned the Masters Bikini Fitness champion.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here