Cornwall And Joseph In WI Test Squad

Rahkeem Cornwall is congratulated by teammates for his performance against Bangladesh
- Advertisement -
Alzarri Joseph

By Neto Baptiste

Spinner Rahkeem Cornwall and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph have been included in a 13-man West Indies squad for the first of the two-match Test series at home against Sri Lanka from March 21-25 here at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

The Antiguans maintain their places in the squad following their 2-0 series success in the recent tour of Bangladesh where Cornwall claimed a total of 20 wickets. The spinner took four wickets on the final day of the second Test as Windies beat Bangladesh in a thrilling finish to seal the two-match series.

Two senior players who did not play in the Bangladesh series, all-rounder Jason Holder and left-handed batsman Darren Bravo, have returned to the Test squad which will be led by Kraigg Brathwaite with Jermaine Blackwood as his deputy.

The full squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kemar Roach and Jomel Warrican.

The Selection Panel also named the squad for the CWI President’s XI to face Sri Lanka in a two-day warm-up match at Coolidge Cricket Ground on March 17-18.

The squad will be led by Roston Chase and also includes Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach and Shai Hope.

Full President’s XI squad: Roston Chase (captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Keon Harding, Kavem Hodge, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Anderson Phillip and Kemar Roach.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here