Walsh, Dyett and O’Garro excel during revamped national track & field championships

Alyssa Dyett competed in a number of events during Sunday’s national championships.
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste 

National sprinter Chevaughn Walsh dominated the men’s marquee event, the 100 meters sprint at the Antigua and Barbuda Athletics Association (ABAA) National Track & Field Championships held at the YASCO Sports Complex over the weekend. 

In what was the body’s first national championships in four years, Walsh clocked 10.39 seconds to finish ahead of the field and take the gold medal. He beat Daniel Bryan (10.69 seconds) and Jamaica based Coull Graham (10.76 seconds) into second and third respectively. 

The women’s equivalent was captured by Alyssa Dyette in 12.20 seconds. Mia McIntosh crossed the line in 12.55 seconds to grab silver while Winisha Steele-Michael was third in 13.08 seconds. 

In the men’s 200 clash, Kadeem Campbell powered to gold medal honours in 22.05 seconds to finish ahead of Dwayne Flemming who registered a time of 22.64 seconds and Osei Gardner in third with a time of 23.14 seconds. 

McIntosh outclassed the field in the female category, running 25.50 seconds to claim the top podium position. She finished ahead of Dyett who was not far behind with a time of 26.90 seconds while Steele-Michael finished third in 27.25 seconds.

Meanwhile, in the field events, national long and triple jumper Taeco O’Garro was unmatched in the open mixed category of the long jump.

The athlete, who is set to represent Antigua and Barbuda at the NACAC Under-23 Track & Field Championships slated for July 9-11 in San Jose, California, registered a jump of 7.25 meters dominate the long jump. Terrence Thomas was second with a leap of 7.16 meters while Dyett covered 4.80 meters to finish with a bronze medal.

O’Garro was however unchallenged in the triple jump, leaping 15.22 meters in the event. 

In other results, Bryan clocked 49.86 seconds to capture the men’s 400 meters with McIntosh dominating the women’s equivalent in 1:02.28 seconds. Kelvin Sundar won the men’s 800 event in a time of 2:00.16 seconds with McIntosh clocking 2:55.36 to claim the women’s prize. 

Full results are available at www.antiguaobserver.com.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here