Two to contest Barbuda by-election

- Advertisement -

With Nomination Day scheduled for today, two political parties have announced their candidates who will contest the by-election for a seat on the Barbuda Council.
Calsey Beazer-Joseph will represent the Barbuda People’s Movement (BPM) while the Antigua Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) has selected Ricardo Nedd to contest the by-election, which will be held on April 30.
 Beazer-Joseph, a Drug Educator in the department of Substance Abuse Prevention Division, defeated Jacky Frank, the only other contestant in a primary held by the BPM earlier this week.
“As a Barbudan, growing up in Barbuda, I have a passion and I love where I’m from and I love people. I was encouraged by my peers to run and am mostly looking forward to becoming an example to the youth,” Beazer-Joseph informed OBSERVER media on what prompted her to run for a position on the Council.
The youth activist also spoke on her eagerness to get things done in Barbuda, where she says the “progress to rebuilding Barbuda has been very slow”.
“There is progress but more can be done…the Council has been managing affairs for Barbudans for some time and I strongly believe if the Council is running the way it should, the decision-making process would be more smooth and enlightening for Barbudans.”
Meanwhile, Ricardo Nedd the chosen ABLP candidate, did not have to endure a primary since he was selected from among three other ABLP prospective candidates – Janice Welch, Bantam Lewis and Andre Lee.
Nedd, a primary school teacher, has a Bachelor Degree in Psychology with Management Hons. (UWI Cave Hill) – 2018.
ABLP Chairwoman Darilyn Burton, in explaining how Nedd was selected, told OBSERVER media: “Due to the short period of time, we decided to not hold a primary but to let the four individuals meet amongst themselves and choose the best person for the job. Ricardo emerged that person and will contest the by-election for the ABLP.”

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × three =