Three New Faces As ABCA Re-elect Barthley

ST JOHN’S, Antigua- Three new members were elected to the executive body of Antigua & Barbuda Cricket Association (ABCA), while former national cricketer Zorol Barthley was returned as president when the organisation held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and elections on Thursday night.

Angela Payne-Maginley replaced former secretary, Martin Cave, who tendered his resignation in July of this year while Eddie Cools-Lartigue was elected assistant secretary. Kenny Lewis of Bethesda was elected as a member.

Barthley took particular delight in the fact that over 15 new members were accepted into ABCA during the meeting.

“After the elections, we accepted new membership of 20 people so at least we have 20 new people who have shown interest in becoming members so that would certainly add to our numbers and with those people with fresh ideas and fresh energy we are hoping that by the time we turn around and call a general meeting where we are going to then start to make changes,” Barthley said.

“The AGMs are for specific purposes but when we have a special general meeting then we start looking at stuff like the articles and association and changing a one year term to maybe a two year term or whatever the body determines is best,” the president added.

The former Leeward Islands player also admitted there is still a lot of work to do to move the sport forward.

“We are probably stagnated as far as our cricket goes and we have taken some backward steps, but like anything with change, you are going to have teething issues and so it’s for the stakeholders to buy in to the new development thrust that we want to establish and it’s for us to become believable in terms of what we want to do and it’s to get everyone working towards the same common goal,” Barthley said.

“Obviously we have financial issues so we have to find revenue streams and we have to put in place structures that are going to ensure we earn funds from what we do.”

The rest of the executive is made up of Fitzroy Quinland as first VP, Kenneth “Flipper” Benjamin as second VP, Hyram Forde as treasurer and Desiree Potter as assistant treasurer.

The other members are Wilden Gardner, Robert James, Elmore Scholar, Leon Stevens and Elcana Charles.

Pin It

Community Rules is really happy to provide this forum in which all are encouraged to freely state their opinions without ridiculing anyone or being ridiculed. We've found that happens really easily if each comment is limited to the topic at hand. We will approve any comment that speaks solely to the story to which it is attached and is free from name calling and defamatory statements.

While we will not post comments questioning moderators' judgement, we will take such suggestions into consideration as possible ways to improve the experience of all community members. If you feel your submission has been disallowed unfairly or if a breech slips through our net, please let us know by e-mailing