Rangers Win First Joma Caribbean T10 Cricket Tournament

- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

Rangers emerged winners of the first instalment of the Joma Caribbean T10 cricket tournament following a five-wicket triumph over Chargers in the final contested at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium over the weekend.

Sent to bat after losing the toss, Chargers were restricted to 64 for six in their 10 overs with Wilden Cornwall Jr hitting a top score of 20. Player of the match Glenton Williams bagged three wickets for five runs in his two overs.

Rangers were then led by their captain and Leeward Islands player, Kofi James, who top-scored with 19 from 12 deliveries as they reached their target at 67 for five from eight overs. Uri Smith chipped in with 13 at the top of the order.

1 joma 1
Captain of the champion Rangers team, Kofi James, proudly displays the winners trophy.

Morton Browne was the pick of the bowlers for Chargers with three wickets for four runs in two overs, while West Indies spinner Hayden Walsh Jr snatched two for 16.

Meanwhile, Rockets beat Hawksbills by 21 runs to claim third place honours.

Batting first, Rockets were led by their captain Rahkeem Cornwall who hit five sixes and one four on his way to 34 off just nine balls as they raised 100 for eight in their 10 overs. Tariq Charles added 20 and player of the match Kerry Mentore chipped in with 18.

Hawksbills were then restricted to 79 for four in their allotted 10 overs. Deran Benta top-scored with 18 while Michael Haynes Dover and Justin Athanaze each made 15. Mentore was the pick of the bowlers for Rockets, claiming three for five in his two overs.

1 joma 2
Players from both the championship Rangers team and losing finalists Chargers, celebrate following the medalling ceremony.

Cornwall of Rockets was adjudged player of the tournament after having amassed 356 runs at an average of 50.86, while Glenton Williams of Rangers was the best bowler with 17 wickets at an average of 7.18.

Kofi James copped the award for the most outfield dismissals with eight, while Deran Benta was the wicketkeeper with the most dismissals — six.

- Advertisement -