Pigotts and Mahico take One Day Cricket Titles

Pigotts and Harney Motors Mahico have been crowned champions of the Commercial Bank/Sir Curtly Ambrose Competition and the Antigua Commercial Bank/Sir Richie Richardson One Day cricket competitions, respectively.

Pigotts, batting first in the Sir Curtly Ambrose competition on Sunday, managed to post a total of 234 for eight. The Pigotts men were led by Jason Peters with a century while Ajarni Frederick chipped in with 40 runs.

Bowling for St Paul’s, Robert Browne bagged three wickets for 37 runs while Vincent Shadrach picked up two for 38.

When their time at the crease arrived, St Paul’s could only manage a reply of 171 before they were all out.

Derrick Benta led his team’s effort with 53 runs and Michael Dover fell four runs short of a half century at 46.

Richie Thomas had the best bowling figures for Pigotts when he claimed four victims for 24 runs. Dwayne Fordyce also proved effective with the ball, taking four wickets for 67 runs.

On Saturday, Harney Motors Mahico defeated National Parks St Paul’s by seven wickets in the finals of the Sir Richie Richardson competition.

St Paul’s, batting first, made 148 all out with Aldrick Meade picking up 36 runs and Kim George hitting 33. Bowling for Mahico, Jamaal Shillingford claimed an astonishing seven wickets for 80 runs.

Mahico in reply, reached their target with seven wickets in hand at 149 for three. Vernon Dowdy led the charge with 61 runs while Kadeem Henry added 33 to the total.

Action will continue with the ACB/American Airlines/Sir Viv Richards Thursday League when Pigotts play Caribbean Union Bank Bethesda at Pigotts, Diamonds International Police tackle Ceco Pharmacy Schools at Police, and Mahico hosts Medpath New Winthorpes all on Thursday.