Phoenix And Cervantes Wins FA’s Top Awards

- Advertisement -

Former national and Greenbay Hoppers midfielder, Rolston “Lexy” Phoenix, was adjudged coach of the year while Cuban import, Sander Cervantes of Five Islands, won both the golden boot award and the MVP award in the top flight competition.
Phoenix, who coached his former team to only their second title in the Premier Division’s history last season, was impressive from the sidelines leading Hoppers to 11 victories in 18 matches. They were beaten only three times while drawing four matches to reach 37 points.
The Greenbay team scored 29 times while giving up 23 goals in the process.
Meanwhile, Cervantes found the back of the net 14 times to play an instrumental role in Five Islands’ runners-up finish with 35 points. The Cuban professional, who was also part of the Five Islands set-up in the First Division two years ago, scored a number of telling goals to keep his team in the title race during the 2017/18 Premier Division competition.
Coach Karl “KC” Casey of FC Aston Villa, was judged best in the First Division while former national player, Joey Christopher, won the top coach awards in the Second Division with Police Football Club.
Villa also dominated the on field awards with Yasney Lorentes winning both the MVP and golden boot award. The striker scored 22 times for Villa who were promoted to the Premier Division for the 2018/19 domestic season. He however shared the league’s MVP award with teammate Gavin Lewis.
Sea View Farm’s Markland Wright dominated scoring in the Second Division, hitting the back of the net 22 times while midfielder Dia Martin, also of Sea View “Continued on page 22
Awards from page 24
Farm, was the league’s MVP.
The golden glove or best goalkeeper award in the Premier Division went to Five Islands’ Julio Pichardo while Danilo Tores of Villa was best in the First Division. Sea View Farm’s Jeremiah Aska gobbled up the award for the Second Division.
Veteran and former national captain, George “Sowa” Dublin of Hoppers, won the best midfielder award for the Premier Division while Omega Jeffery of Villa and Courtney Clarke of Liberta Blackhawks were joint winners of the award in the First Division. West Ham’s Anderson Herbert won the Second Division equivalent.
Senior national player, Tamarley “Ziggy” Thomas of Hoppers (Premier Division), Gavin Lewis of Villa (First Division) and Cecil Daley of Police (Second Division) were named Utility Player of the Year in their respective divisions.
Blake Thompson of Grenades (Premier Division), Astel Joseph of Liberta (First Division) and Trevor Henry of Police (Second Division) were the best defenders across the leagues while Grenades’ Sean George and Liberta’s Diane Anthony were managers of the year in the Premier and First Divisions. Winston Smith of Mahico claimed the Second Division manager prize.
The 2018/19 domestic season is set to kick off next week with the President’s Cup.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

twenty − three =