New National Records Set

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Two new records were set during the staging of the 2013 Antigua & Barbuda Athletic Association (ABAA) National Track & Field Championships held at YASCO Sports Complex on Sunday.

Eighteenyearold Miguel Francis and USbased Samantha Edwards both set new fastest times when they competed in the male 200m and female 400m events, respectively.

Francis clocked 20.60 to capture the Male A event, producing the fastest time at YASCO in a 200m race, and finishing ahead of Chevaughn Walsh (21.00) and Matthew Mitchell (21:06).

Brendon Christian holds the national record of 20:12.

Meanwhile, Edwards clocked 52:69 as she posted the fastest time in a 400m race at the venue.

Edwards took the top podium spot ahead of Rosalie Pringle who won silver in 58:48, and Viani Joseph who delivered the bronze in 1:00.51.

The Male “A” 100m finals also drew some attention as it brought some of the country’s most promising sprinters together for an anticipated showdown.

Francis was once again a feature. Both he and overseas-based Tahir Walsh finished the race in the exact same time of 10:53.

A photo finish, however, gave Walsh (10:53.01) the edge by three hundredths of a second over Francis (10:53.04).

Aaron Armstrong placed third in 10:61 and Allistar Clarke (10:63) took fourth.

In the female 100m, Bliss Soleyn clocked 12:25 to sprint off with the gold medal. Kiwandi Morson (12:63) and Melinda Simpson (12:83) were second and third, respectively.

The Male “B” 100m contest was captured by Omeg Jeffery in 10:99 with Kazanye Charles and Alex Stuart finishing second and third, respectively.

There were also victories for Stewart Davis (2:00.59) in the male 800m, Ghere Coates (3:54.55) in the boys’ under-15 1,200m, and Abbie Davis (3:23.83) in the girls’ 1,000m.

Ezra Colbourne clocked 17:11.29 to capture the 5,000m male open event, while Davis dominated the girls 800m in 2:32.94.

Soleyn (24:77) easily out-ran the competition in the female 200m. Eleka Joseph and Viani Joseph were the respective runners-up.

Colbourne captured the 1,500m male event in 4:26.42, while Romarlo Wallace clocked 21:81 to win the Male “C” 200m, and Richard Richardson stopped the clock in 21:81 to win the Male “B” 200m.

Gabrielle Davis completed the girls’ under-15 200m in 25:94, while the boys’ equivalent was snatched by Elisha McCoy in 23:83.

Michaiah Washington (22:95) took the boys’ under-17 200m; Kwancia Jarvis took home gold in the girls’ under-11 600m, and Joshua Robin bagged the boys’ equivalent in 2:05.

Jaheem Ferron was number one in the boys’ under-13 1,000m race.

The male 400m showdown was captured by Duke Thomas (53:20). Jerica Lawrence won the 100m girls under-11 race in 15:65, while Zody Roberts took the male equivalent in 14:17.

In other results, Akaysee Greene won the under-13 girls’ 100m; Kary May was best in the under-15 girls’ sprint; McCoy won the boys’ equivalent, and Washington, the under-17 boys’ 100m.


Pin It

Community Rules is really happy to provide this forum in which all are encouraged to freely state their opinions without ridiculing anyone or being ridiculed. We've found that happens really easily if each comment is limited to the topic at hand. We will approve any comment that speaks solely to the story to which it is attached and is free from name calling and defamatory statements.

While we will not post comments questioning moderators' judgement, we will take such suggestions into consideration as possible ways to improve the experience of all community members. If you feel your submission has been disallowed unfairly or if a breech slips through our net, please let us know by e-mailing