India crush Ireland in record victory to seal T20 series win in Dublin

- Advertisement -

India recorded their biggest T20 win as they hammered Ireland by 143 runs to win the one-sided Dublin series 2-0.
It was the second biggest victory in T20 history in terms of runs, with India posting 213-4 before bowling Ireland out for 70 in sunny Malahide.
K.L. Rahul made 70, Suresh Raina 69 and Hardick Pandya 32 not out off 12 balls, while spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav shared six wickets.
India begin a three-match T20 series against England on Tuesday.
That is followed by three one-day internationals and five Tests.
India, who won the opening T20 by 76 runs, passed 200 in consecutive T20s for the first time.
Ireland were once again punished after winning the toss and choosing to bowl in front of another capacity crowd in north Dublin.
India captain Virat Kohli, opening the batting, followed his two-ball duck in the first game with only nine.
But the tourists struck 13 sixes – Rahul hit six and Hardick four and Raina three – to take India past Wednesday’s total of 208-5.
A rare highlight for Ireland was Kevin O’Brien taking two wickets in his first three balls.
Skipper Gary Wilson was confident Ireland would push India closer on Friday, but they managed a meek response with the bat.
Umesh Yadav dismissed Paul Stirling with the second ball of the innings and Ireland never recovered.
William Porterfield, who was replaced by Wilson as limited-overs captain earlier this month, made 14 on his return. (BBC Sport)

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here