Grenades hoping to make history at CFU Club Championships

- Advertisement -

The Grenades Football Club will seek to go down in history as the first from Antigua & Barbuda to win a regional football competition when they enter the final round of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championships in Trinidad this weekend.
The club, which hails from the southern end of the island, is grouped with defending champions Central FC out of Trinidad, and Cibao out of the Dominican Republic, all in Group A.
Grenades are scheduled to take on hosts Central FC on Sunday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at 8 pm.
Coach of the Grenades FC, Derrick Edwards, expressed confidence in the readiness of his squad.
“We have been preparing for the past seven weeks and I think that the guys are motivated and ready to go. We have a couple of nagging injuries but we have that under control for Sunday. We’ve made a couple of changes from the team that went to Jamaica in various positions, so we’re looking forward to putting on a good showing down there in Trinidad,” he said.
The former national striker also observed that the team has gelled significantly as a unit, an aspect he believes will work in their favour.
“I think it is more balanced and that in various positions we have players that can replace any player we decide to replace and have the same strength. The unity is so good right now because the guys blend together so easy. Once you are playing football, it is one language and the guys adapt quickly. I think the camaraderie is beautiful,” Edwards said.
The Antiguan team will take on Cibao two days later also at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Group B consists of San Juan Jabloteh, Portmore United and acing Des Gonaives.
Each group is played on a round-robin basis. The winners of the groups advance to the final, while the runners-up advance to the third place match.
The top four teams will qualify for the 2017–18 CONCACAF Champions League. The champions will enter the second phase (2018 CONCACAF Champions League), while the teams finishing second through fourth will enter the first phase (2017 CONCACAF League).
Squad: Christopher Harvey, Michaud Barrett, Lamar Hodges, Blake Thompson, Zachaeus Polius, Nazir McBernette, Shawn Anthony, Taiezo Williamson, Trevaughn Harriet, Stefan Smith, Okeem Challenger, Prince Walters, Ranja Christian, Shakkimba Williams, Karanjah Mack, Rakeem Henry, Teran Williams, Curtez Kellman, Lloyd Matthews and Hakeem Joseph.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here