Gore, Benta Drafted By Leeward Islands Hurricanes Ahead Of Professional Cricket League

1 draft 1
1. Karima Gore of the PIC Liberta Blackhawks has been drafted by the Leeward Islands Hurricanes
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

PIC Liberta Blackhawks’ all-rounder Karima Gore and CUB Bethesda Golden Eagles’ wicketkeeper- batsman, Deran Benta, have landed their first Cricket West Indies (CWI) Professional Cricket League (PCL) contracts after being drafted by the Leeward Islands Hurricanes for the 2022-2023 season.

Gore and Benta were named among a 15-member roster following the CWI draft last Friday, during which all six franchises selected their contracted players and two drafted players.

Gore, playing in the Super 40 this season, amassed a total of 339 runs with a highest of 123, while bagging 10 wickets for 195 runs. He has scored another 211 runs in the Two Day format so far with a top knock of 85, while claiming 24 wickets with two five-fors (5/22 and 5/37).

Benta was the leading scorer in the Super 40 with 394 runs and a highest of 115 while claiming a total of four wickets for 50 runs. To date, he has smashed a highest of 71 in the Two Day and has amassed 209 runs. Benta has also picked up 11 wickets.

They are joined by all-rounder Rahkeem Cornwall, Devon Thomas and Kofi James as the other Antiguans in the squad.

The other players are Colin Archibald (St Kitts & Nevis); Keacy Carty (St Martin); Jeremiah Louis (St Kitts & Nevis); Jahmar Hamilton (USVI); Kieran Powell (St Kitts & Nevis); Terrance Warde (St Kitts & Nevis); Sheeno Berridge (St Kitts & Nevis); Daniel Doram (St Maarten); Ross Powell (St Kitts & Nevis); and Damion Williams (Montserrat).

Last Friday’s draft was held via Zoom and featured two rounds, with each of the six franchises already pre-selecting 13 players.

Barbados Pride were crowned champions in the West Indies Championship when they won in Trinidad earlier this month to retain the Headley/Weekes Trophy named in honour of legends George Headley and Sir Everton Weekes.

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force are the defending champions in the CG United Super50. They won the title in 2021 and took the Sir Clive Lloyd Trophy named in honour of the great captain who led West Indies to the World Cup triumphs in 1975 and 1979.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here