Gabriel hit with heavy fine for bumping Sarfraz

0
508
- Advertisement -

KINGSTON, Jamaica (CMC) – West Indies speedster Shannon Gabriel will part with half of his match fee after being found guilty by ICC match referee, Chris Broad, of deliberately bumping Sarfraz Ahmed during the just-concluded opening Test against Pakistan.
Following the end of his over during the fourth day’s play at Sabina Park, Gabriel “made deliberate physical contact with non-striker Sarfraz Ahmed who was standing in his crease” as he collected his cap from umpire Richard Illingworth, the ICC said in a statement.
Gabriel was subsequently charged under the ICC Code of Conduct on matters relating to “inappropriate and deliberate physical contact with a player” and admitted to the offence.
He also accepted the fine of 50 per cent of his match fee.
The ICC said three demerit points had been added to Trinidadian Gabriel’s disciplinary record. If he accumulates four or more demerit points within a 24-month period, these will be converted into suspension points and a ban will result.
Two suspension points result in a ban or from one Test, two ODIs or two T20Is, whichever comes first.
Gabriel bowled impressively throughout the game to take four wickets but West Indies crashed to a seven-wicket defeat on the final day at Sabina Park.
 

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here