Freeland Pitches Tournament To Help National Player Who Lost Home In Fire

National and Flyers basketball player, Kenya Achom
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

The Antigua and Barbuda Basketball Association (ABBA) will host a fundraising tournament for national player, Kenya Achom, who recently loss his home during a massive blaze in the Point community.

This was revealed by newly elected president of the association, Michael Freeland, who said that although a date has not been pinned down for the event, the executive is targeting a day in April.

“Let me also say that we are going to have a charity shield cup which is a five on five tournament where we are going to invite the clubs to participate and that is indirect support for basketball player Kenya Achom who plays with Flyers. He had the unfortunate incident of his house being burnt down two weeks ago in the Point area so we just want him to know that the basketball fraternity is behind of him and we stand ready to support him and so we are going to put on a tournament in that regard so we could show the love,” he said. 

At least four homes had been totally destroyed and two more damaged in the fire on March 10 on lower St George’s Street.

Freeland was unchallenged in his bid to become the new president of the association when the body held its AGM on Tuesday night.

The focus he said, will be on a return to competitive basketball.

“The sentiments that were derived last night [Tuesday] were that people want to get back on the court, people want to be playing some basketball and with a keen attention to the 3 on 3 tournaments that seem to be taking place worldwide. I know the Commonwealth Games, I think, has a slot open so I’d have to get some information on that as to whether there are qualifiers, or if it’s just registration but I’m not too familiar as yet. I’ve already asked the NOC for some information in that regard, and then we will take it from there,” he said.

The other members of the executive are Gilbert Findlay (1st Vice President), Vincent “Vere” Cornelius (2nd Vice President), Jennell Willette (General Secretary), Charmaine Wetherill (Treasurer), Inga Francis (Assistant Treasurer/Assistant General Secretary), Carlena Knight (Public Relations Officer) and Bryan Matthew and J’nai Spencer (Floor Members).

- Advertisement -