Five Antiguans Selected In Leeward Islands Under-19 Squad

- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

Five young Antigua and Barbuda cricketers have been named in a 14-member Under-19 Leeward Islands men’s team and another two in the reserves as they finalise preparations for this year’s Cricket West Indies (CWI) Risings Stars Under-19 Tournament slated for St. Vincent and the Grenadines from July 2 to August 2.

Leading the selections is wicketkeeper batsman Jewel Andrew, who has been named vice captain of the sub-regional squad. Andrew, who plays for All Saints Pythons on the local front, ended the recently concluded ABCA competition with a total of 365 runs at an average of 30.42. He had a highest of 100 from 89 balls against Bolans Blasters.

Also selected is all-rounder Michael Greaves from the Liberta Blackhawks. Greaves scores 209 runs in the two day tournament while also claiming four wickets. Empire Nation’s Micah McKenzie, who ended the recent tournament with 30 wickets, will also feature in the Leeward Islands squad. McKenzie, who had an economy rate of 4.08, was the number six ranked bowler in the tournament.

Pacer and Combined Schools player, Yanique Watley, also joins the Leeward Islands line-up. The medium pacer claimed a total of 10 wickets over nine innings, including two three-wicket hauls in the recent two day tournament.

Rounding off the country’s selections in the 14-member squad is all-rounder Malique Walsh from the Liberta Blackhawks. Walsh compiled a total of 185 runs in 11 innings in the recently held two day competition.

Meanwhile, Liberta Blackhawks’ Wilden Cornwall Jr and Tarrique Charles were both named in the reserves.

The team will be captained by Carlon Bowen-Tuckett of Nevis and coached by Terry Adams out of Anguilla.

The championships will feature both red ball and 50-over white ball cricket geared towards helping the players develop a strong foundation of skill-sets, both mental and technical, that they can build on as they progress through the CWI development pathway system.

Full Leeward Islands Squad: Carlon Bowen-Tuckett – Captain (Nevis), Jewel Andrew – Vice Captain (Antigua), Michael Greaves (Antigua), Nathan Edwards (St Maarten), Micah McKenzie (Antigua), Michael Palmer (St Maarten), Yanique Watley (Antigua), Onaje Amory (Nevis), Amarius Harris (St Maarten), Chamiqueko Landerfort (St Maarten), Malique Walsh (Antigua) Tyanick Honore (St Maarten), Kimani Nisbett (Nevis) and De-Antre Drew (St Kitts).

Reserves: Wilden Cornwall Jr (Antigua), Randell Longvile (St Maarten), Tarrique Charles (Antigua), Nehemiah Young (Montserrat), Zavio Henry (St Kitts) and Ronald Williams (St Kitts).

Management: Terry Adams (head coach) and Purnell Joseph (manager).

- Advertisement -