Five Antiguans named in Leeward Islands Under 17 Squad

7 licb
1 Matthew Miller, 2 J’quan Athanaze, 3 Micah McKenzie, 4 Tanez Francis 5 Mekali Tonge
- Advertisement -

By Samuel Peters

The Leeward Island Cricket Board has released its squad for the Cricket West Indies Rising Stars Under 17 Tournament that will take place in Trinidad late this summer.

The team will be captained by 15-year-old Matthew Miller who recently completed a seven-week cricket scholarship at Harrow School in the UK.

The all-rounder, who plays for the Jennings Cricket Club, will be joined by fellow villager Tanez Francis who played for the Empire Nation, left for the UK last Monday.

Francis was voted MVP in the Under 19 School League Finals against the Pares Secondary School.

The other three Antiguans are fast bowler Mekali Tonge, Leewards Under 15 Captain all-rounder J’quan Athanaze and Leewards Under 19 leg spinner, Micah McKenzie.

The full squad is as follows:

Matthew Miller, Is-rael Morton, De-antre Drew, Mekali Tonge, Jaheem Clarke, J’quan Athanaze, Lawshorn Bergan, Devanand Singh, Caiden Francis, Micah McKenzie, Carlton Pluck, Lythe Browne, Tanez Francis and Eirette Richards.

The reserves are Amoree Jones, Hosea Roberts and Jathan Edwards.  

- Advertisement -