Crushers Get First Loss As Empire Earn First Win In 10 Splash Tournament

Shavon Moore top scored with 26 runs while claiming two wickets to aid New Winthorpes past Pigotts Crushers. (File photo)
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

Pigotts Crushers suffered their first defeat in the ongoing 10 Splash Cricket Competition on Sunday night following a four-wicket loss to New Winthorpes Lions at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

Playing in the feature match of the Antigua and Barbuda Cricket Association (ABCA) competition, Pigotts posted 91 for seven in their 10 overs after being asked to bat by New Winthorpes. Kadeem Henry led the charge with 27 while Elroy Francis Jr added 22 to the total.

Jamaul Fernandez and Shavon Moore each bagged two wickets bowling for the victors Fernandez bagged two for 24 in two overs while Moore picked up two for 15 in his two overs.

New Winthorpes successfully chased their target, reaching 94 for six in 9.3 overs. Moore led the way with 26 off 17 deliveries while Nino Henry was not out on 19 from 12 balls. Quinton Boatswain was the only bowler of note for Pigotts as he claimed two wickets for 14 runs in two overs.

In Sunday’s other contest, Empire Nation broke their winless run in the competition with a convincing nine-wicket victory over Bolans Blasters.

Bolans, after being asked to bat, were restricted to 63 for four in their allotment of 10 overs. Taeim Tonge hit a top score of 19 while Derek Mourillon batted not out for 18 runs.

Samuel Peters, Damian Lowenfield and J James each picked up one wicket for the winners.

When their turn at the crease arrived, Empire Nation was swift to their target, getting to 67 for one in just 6.5 overs. Shane Burton led the charge with 23 runs from 16 deliveries while Lowenfield chipped in with 15 runs.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

two × 4 =