Cricket Association jumpstarts preparations for regional under-19 tournament

Coach Keith Frederick will be among the coaching staff for the Antigua and Barbuda squad as they prepare for the under-19 competition
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste 

The Antigua and Barbuda Cricket Association (ABCA) has named a 21-member training squad as they jumpstart preparations for the regional under-19 women’s competition set for later this year.

The team, according to an ABCA release, will commence training sessions on Thursday under the watchful eyes of Keith Frederick and Leon Rodney.

Rodney, who is also the president of the cricket association, said the players will start their preparations in hopes of making it onto the Leeward Islands squad for the regional competition.

“Remember, they usually have the under-19 tournament every year and it took place in Trinidad but because of Covid it went on the backburner, so they will be up and running with that again. But I think they will just push it back to June or July, so we have just a small window to get the best part of the girls and then come together with St Kits or Montserrat and whosoever else have other girls and do a thing and get a team,” he said. 

Rodney hinted that the selection of the training squad was especially difficult given that there has been no schools cricket in two years.

However, he said the association has had dialogue with ministry officials on the way forward for schools cricket.

“I initiated a meeting with Heather Samuel Daley [Director of Sports] but she wasn’t there [in office] really so she had put me on to the deputy in Evan Jones and the ABCA initiated a discussion with the ministry and Jones and Ridley Jacobs [Coordinator of schools cricket] were there. We were basically saying that the time has come where the ABCA and the ministry have to work together to look about the age cricket and there have been talks, but I don’t want to go into the details with it,” he said.

Thursday’s training will start at 2:30pm at the Police Recreation Grounds. The under-19 competition is slated for July.

Squad: Chey-Anne Moses, Kimberly Anthony, Yenique Walsh, Darisha Joseph, Alliyah Plant, Mea Pryce, Adara Joseph, Keyarah Hope, Alana Welcome, Shupet Spencer, Keitonya Skepple, Johanna Humphreys, Summer Lake, Sanna Reifer, Courtney Browne, Shaleka Liking, J’Naye Charles, Teriqka Michael, Nyesha Shaw, Tiquesha Shaw and Briana Stay.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here