Cedar Grove And Blackhawks Cop Top Football Awards

- Advertisement -

By Carlena Knight

Cedar Grove FC and the Liberta Blackhawks walked away with the most awards over the weekend during the Antigua and Barbuda Football Association (ABFA) Sports Awards.

The team that gained promotion from the Second Division to the First Division, and the Premier Division champions both claimed five of the eight awards for their respective divisions.

In the Second Division, the Best Defender award went to Javin Maynard; the Golden Glove to Niel Brown; the Golden Boot and Player of the Year both went to Denny Henry; and the Coach of the Year was George “Kajawawa” Warner.

Westham FC’s Karl Kirby was adjudged the Best Utility Player, while Jolaine Marshall of Bolans FC was adjudged the Manager of the Year.

The other award in that segment, the Young Player, went to Javante Andrew of Mahico.

Meanwhile, in the Premier Division, Jamol “Bling” Stevens of champion team, PIC Liberta Blackhawks was named both the Best Defender as well as the Player of the Year. However, Stevens shared the Player of the Year award with former teammate and Greenbay Hoppers player, Eugene Kirwan.

Legonis Sanchez, also hailing from the Blackhawks set-up, was awarded the Golden Glove, while the Golden Boot went to Eugene Kirwan and Azinho Solomon of Swetes FC.

FC Aston Villa’s Mervyn Hazelwood was the Best Utility Player, while teammates Ronaldo Flowers and Diondre Bishop received the Young Player of the Year award.

Best Coach and Best Manager hailed from the same team, the Liberta Blackhawks in Rowan “Porridge” Benjamin and Dian Anthony, respectively.

All Saints United earned four awards that night in the First Division, winning Best Defender in Carlos Tittle; Golden Glove in Dionte Williams; the Best Player went Kenduka Challenger; and the Coach of the Year was Schyan Jeffers.

Potters FC’s Keon Green was awarded the Golden Boot, while Shaquille Carr of Rangers FC was named the Best Utility Player.

The Best Manager award went to Reemo Lackhart (Pigotts Sports Club), while Troy Jules of John Hughes FC was given the Young Player award.

Football Profile 268 was named Media of the Year, while Wasnah Barnade was the Referee of the Year.

The evening also saw Douglas Wall receiving the Humanitarian Award, while Vanroy Burns was honoured for his years of service as a referee. The awards ceremony was held at Splash Antigua.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here