Burton, Alexander and Michael head top-player shortlist

Bassa’s Randolph “Etty” Burton, Swetes’ Kemoy Alexander and Fort Road’s Akeem Michael are tipped to walk away with the top player awards in their respective divisions when the Antigua & Barbuda Football Association (ABFA) hosts its Awards and Presentation Ceremony at the Antigua Recreation Grounds (ARG) on Saturday.

This is according to a short-list of potential winners released by the FA late last week, naming the top candidates for the individual award in the three divisions.

Burton, the second leading scorer in the Premier Division for 2009/10 with 14 goals, competes with Hoppers’ and leading goal-scorer Kelly Frederick for the top spot.

Frederick scored some 15 times to lead the top division but saw his team finishing fourth behind champions Bassa, runners-up LIME Old Road and Ting All Saints United.

Also up for the top-spot in the Premier Division are Goldsmitty’s Cowen Mathurin and Bassa’s Ranjae Christian.

In the First Division, Alexander led in scoring but will have a tough battle against Seaview Farm’s midfielder Desmond “Zico” Bleau and Empire’s Yafu Lake who both played substantial roles in their team’s advancement into the top division.

Urlings midfielder Quentin Griffith is also up for the top player award in the First Division.

Meanwhile in the Second Division, Fort Road’s Akeem Michael leads the charge but is closely followed by Young Warriors’ Roger Hurst and Akeem Weeks who both played influential roles in their team’s promotion to the First Division.

The 2010/11 domestic season is slated to open on September 18 with a march past and awards ceremony at the ARG.

The opening will be followed by a Charity Shield contest between the First and Second Division champions, Seaview Farm and Fort Road.

The Premier Division will officially start on September 19 with a Gray’s Farm derby between Greenbay Hoppers and Cool & Smooth Empire which will be followed by a friendly contest between the Antigua & Barbuda senior national team and the Trinidad and Tobago senior national team.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!