Basketball honours its elite

- Advertisement -

The Antigua and Barbuda Basketball Association (ABBA) honoured its elite players and officials on Tuesday night during its Annual Awards Ceremony held at the ECAB (formerly ABI) conference room.
The event began with prayer and opening remarks from Janice Sutherland-CEO of Digicel Antigua & Barbuda and President of ABBA, Darryl Matthew.
Both welcomed and congratulated the championship teams in each division, players and officials on their achievements in the past year.
Matthew even noted that the association for the second time since 2008 hosted a major tournament, the Leeward Islands Basketball Association (LIBA) Under-19 Male Championships, and has been asked to host the 2018 installment.
He continued by showing appreciation to the youth for their achievements as they dominated not only in the ABBA Leagues but represented the country well this year, highlighting a number of individual achievements.
“I also have to congratulate the Youth Male 3×3 team which was indeed a special team as the top CXC student, Eric Joseph Jr. was a member of that team. Another player Ahmani Browne is overseas at college in North Carolina.
 “Studies show that students who participate in extra-curricular activities especially sports excel more. Playing sports teaches you time-management, conflict resolution and how to accept a loss with grace, all things that teach you how to become a well-rounded individual in life.”
Sponsors – Digicel, Wadadli Events Services, Yida International Group, Lava International, Cool and Smooth, Kennedy’s and the National Olympic Committee were all honoured for their continuous support to the sport.
Both the LIBA Under-19 Male and Youth Male 3×3 teams were honoured for their achievements.
Both teams claimed bronze medals.
 Ottos Coolers walked away with a number of awards in Division 3, winning both the League and Playoffs titles as well as individual awards for Leading Blocks – Alexis Jackson, Coach of the year – Mahijah Davis and both the League and Playoffs Most Valuable Player which went to Javon Simon and Lincoln Weekes.
Teyon Lake of F and G Trading Cuties Ovals Ojays 3 had his hands full claiming awards for Leading Assists and Leading Steals while Leading Rebounder went to Ezekiel Francois of Old Road Daggers. Leading Scorer was won by Ahmani Browne of Junior Pitbulls.
In Division 2, Potters Steelers took the double claiming the League and Playoff titles.
 Alfred Lee was named the League and Playoffs MVP and was also awarded the Leading Scorer trophy.
Flyers 2 walked away with a number of individual awards as Tavarus Benta claimed awards for Leading Assists and Leading Steals with teammate, Mico Scotland grabbing the Leading Blocks award.
Derryck John of Christos/KAG United was named the Leading Rebounder.
Hands Up Foundation Baldwin Braves dominated in Division 1 winning both the League and Playoff titles.
Vivian “Boast” Destin was named the League MVP while teammate, Xavier “X-man” Meade took the Noel “Nyah” Roberts Playoffs MVP trophy.
Coach Craig “Imp” Anthony also received honours claiming the Elijah Armstrong Coach of the year award.
Flyers basketball earned two awards as player Kenya Achom received the Carl “Bowlie” Knight Leading Assists and Eustace “Spud” Davis Leading Steals awards.
The Rowan T Gomes Leading Blocks award went to Jamaul “Buffy” Williams of LJ Northside Stingerz while Cohen Desouza of Yorks Crushers was named the Andy “Job” Christian Leading Rebounder.
Marlon “Little” Davis took home the Richie Francis Leading Scorer award.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here