Basketball Elites honored

- Advertisement -

Basketball’s top athletes and coaches were honored on Tuesday night as the Antigua and Barbuda Basketball Association (ABBA) held its annual awards and prize-giving ceremony at the Presidential suite in the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.
The evening began with brief remarks from former ABBA president and now Minister of Sports, Culture, National Festivals and the Arts, Daryll Matthew, acting ABBA President, Carlton Brodie and Digicel Marketing Manager – Cherisse Adams, who all congratulated the athletes and the association itself on a job well done for the past season.
A number of persons were recognised for their work in areas of officiating and sponsorship.
The Calvin Ayre Foundation received a special honour for their contribution to the men’s senior national team.
 The highlight of the evening was the renaming of the Division One League Most Valuable Player (MVP) in honor of legend, Wayne “Doc” Harris.
This follows a number of other renaming of Division One individual awards through-out the past two years.
Bryan “Hollywood” Matthew was the recipient of the award as Matthew led the F and G Trading Cuties Ovals Ojays to a league championship.
Matthew, who is also the captain of the silver medalist, Wadadli Bulldogs, was recognised along with the other members of the team.
Ovals Ojays also walked away with the second-place playoffs award in all three divisions and the Carl “Bowlie” Knight Leading Assists award which was claimed by CBA player, Jermaine “Golden” Bolden.
Division One playoff champions, Flyers Basketball, did not go home empty handed as the young team received individual awards for the Eustace “Spud” Davis Leading Steals won by CBA player, Torey Fassett, and the Noel “Nyah” Roberts Playoffs MVP trophy which was jointly won by Fassett and Kenya Achom.
George Hughes of Flyers Basketball claimed the Elijah Armstrong Coach of the year award.
Hometech Systems Outlaws also claimed a number of awards in Division One as Jamaul “Buffy” Williams and Kevin “Pumpkin” Roberts were named the Rowan “Tekel” Gomes Leading Blocker and Ritchie Francis Leading Scorer.
Williams won the award for the second consecutive year.
Keroi “Dragon” Lee of Northside Stingerz won the Andy “Job” Christian Leading Rebounder award.
Meanwhile in Division Two, league champions, Ottos Coolers, and playoffs champions, Callaloo Cay Old Road Daggers dominated, claiming four awards.
Lincoln Weekes of Ottos Coolers, along with being named the league MVP, also walked away with the Leading Scorer award while teammate, Alexis Jackson snatched the Leading Blocks title.
Old Road’s Kelvin Simon claimed awards for Leading Rebounder and Playoffs MVP while Shawn “Gizmo” Williams of Daggers was named the Coach of the Year.
Ariel Quallis of Baldwin Braves 2 was the Leading Steals awardee while Harold Lovell Rockersville’s Regillo Cisse was named the Leading Assister.
In Division Three, Sean Thomas of Max Fernandez Gunners picked up double awards for leading blocks and rebounds while Tindale Telemaque of league champions, Hon. Samantha Marshall Bolans Beach boys claimed the Leading Scorer and league MVP trophies.
Playoff champions, Wadadli Elites, had much to celebrate as Sheldon Gomes was named the Leading Assister and Playoffs MVP while Irwyn “Wanga” Armstrong was the Coach of the Year.
Kyle Alexander of Pointville Ballers claimed the Leading Steals award.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here