Antigua and Nevis dominate Under-17 selections

- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

Antigua and Barbuda’s Rasheed Henry will lead the Leeward Island’s Under-17 squad during next month’s Cricket West Indies (CWI) Under-17 Tournament in Trinidad & Tobago.

Henry, who plays locally for Rising Sun Spartans, is joined by five other nationals in the squad set to compete in the regional tournament from July 4th to 15th.

The other Antiguan and Barbudan players are Kelvin Pitman, Kenny Sutton, Hilroy Andrew, Malique Walsh and Jaylen Francis.

Also selected are Nevisians T’Jhari Clarke (Vice Captain), Jaden Carmichael, Onaje Amory, Carlon-Bowen Tuckett, Anderson Amurdan and Akadianto Willett.

Clinton Reece (Montserrat) and Nathan Edwards (St. Maarten) round off the selection of the 14-man squad.

Four reserved players — Patrice Nisbett Jr. (Nevis), Lavan Rawlins (St. Kitts), Kyian Joseph and D’Hari Francis, both of Antigua and Barbuda — were also named.

Steve Liburd of St. Kitts will coach the team while Antigua and Barbuda’s Justin Joseph has been named manager and assistant coach.

The Leeward Islands will play their first match on July 6th against Jamaica before facing hosts Trinidad & Tobago one day later. The Leewards will face Barbados on July 9th, the Windward Islands on July 11th before rounding off the preliminary round on July 13th against Guyana.

Matches in the competition will start at 9:30 am.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × 4 =