Antigua and Barbuda Wins PIC Canada Challenge Home Leg

- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

Antigua and Barbuda emerged victors in the home leg of the PIC Canada Challenge Invitational Golf Tournament on Sunday, amassing 25.5 points over the two-day competition to beat visitors, Canada, who ended with 13.5 points at the Cedar Valley Golf Course.

Antigua and Barbuda dominated day two following a slow opening day in which the hosts amassed seven points and Canada compiled a total of six points.

Captain of the home team, Eugene Silcott, said the tournament was highly competitive but also allowed for much camaraderie.

“The place was on fire last night at Cedar Valley and the camaraderie was so great between the Canadians, the Antiguans; and we all came together and had a great time.  I must say I am happy that Cedar Valley won the tournament, this is the second year and we are going to try and see if we can win the one in their backyard just to show them it was not because of a home court advantage,” he said.

Silcott said the body’s main focus is now the return leg of the tournament slated for later this year, adding that he is scheduled to meet with the board at the Cedar Valley Golf Club to conduct a post- mortem of the just-concluded leg.

“I would have to discuss that with the board so that the board can tell me because I was busy dealing with other stuff, so maybe a lot of things could have gone bad, and I haven’t recognised it, but I’ll just wait on the board so we could sit down and have a post-mortem and actually see where we can improve,” he said.

“I am focused now on getting the team to Canada for the return leg of the tournament in Canada in August on the weekend of the 15th., so at this point in time I am just in the process of trying to get things out there in terms of sponsorship, and what we need in terms of airfare, hotel accommodation and these things,” he added.

Two of the country’s living National Heroes in Sir Richard Richardson and Sir Vivian Richards were part of a 26-member team selected to represent Antigua and Barbuda in the tournament.

The other members of the team are Eldine Baptiste, Byron Andrew, Zorol Barthley, Wilston Charles, Navin Singh, Marlon George, Andy Hall, Avery Jonas, Leon “Kuma” Rodney, David Kinnell, Demar James, Sarafina Nicholas, Ralph Francis, Mike Pigott, Kori Robertson, Josh Crooke, Patrick Ryan, Selwyn Samuel, Omarie James, Daryll Matthew, Ivan Hixon, Sebiena Wilston, Wesley Dyer and Silcott.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here