‘All the schools won’: Director of Sports says Inter-schools was a unifying event

Director of Sports, Heather Samuel Daley
- Advertisement -

By Neto Baptiste

The 12 schools that participated in last weekend’s Inter-schools Track & Field Championships were all winners and played a pivotal role in the success of the event which returned after a five-year hiatus.

This is the opinion of Director of Sports who is also a member of the event’s organising committee, Heather Samuel Daley, who said she was heartened by both the performances of the athletes and the level of support from the schools themselves.

“All of the schools won and they were celebrating the fact that they were back at Inter-schools. It was a great event for the athletes, great event for the schools. I would very much like to say congratulations to all of the schools and it was the athletes that would have won Inter-schools, all of the athletes, all of the schools,” she said.

“I am not surprised at all because once you say Inter-schools, all of the schools would have done their little rallies at their internal school programme, and then the fans will come out. So, I am very pleased and encouraged to see so many people came out on both days,” she added.

Although no official results have been released by the Ministry of Sports, Daley confirmed that multiple-times champions Princess Margaret School (PMS) won both the boys and girls division of the championships. She assured that all results will be published shortly explaining that rainy conditions over the weekend slowed the process.

“We’re waiting on some additional scores to be entered but, unfortunately, some of the papers would have gotten wet during the inclement weather [on Sunday], and so we have to make sure we enter all of the events before we can say what were the final scores. But it’s safe to say that Princess Margaret, Ottos Comprehensive and Clare Hall were the top three schools in each category,” the former national sprinter said. 

Princess Margaret School, Pares Secondary School, Glanvilles Secondary School, Irene B Williams Secondary School, Jennings Secondary School, St Mary’s Secondary School, Ottos Comprehensive School, Antigua State College, Antigua Grammar School, Clare Hall Secondary School, St Anthony’s Secondary and Island Academy all participated in this year’s event.

The championships, held at the YASCO Sports Complex, was the first since 2017 after the event was halted due to an unsuitable surface at the facility.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fifteen − 3 =